South Hills Nursery School


School Policies & EYFS

Early Years Foundation Stage

You have probably read in the press that in September 2012 there will be a new Early Years Foundation Stage which is less bureaucratic. Significantly the learning goals have been reduced from 69 to 17 with a new emphasis on three prime areas: 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Communication and Language
Physical Development 

It also includes a progress check for two year olds to provide early intervention as necessary.

The EYFS builds upon the good practice included in previous frameworks, but for the first time explicitly recognises and celebrates a more holistic view of the child.  The EYFS comprises four themes that express four important principles which underpin effective practice in the care, development and learning of young children.



A Unique Child

Child Development: Skilful communicator, competent learner.

Inclusive Practice: Equality and diversity, children’s entitlements, early support.

Keeping Safe: Being safe and protected, discovering boundaries, making choices.

Health and Well-being: Growth and developing, physical and emotional wellbeing.

Positive Relationships

Respecting Each Other: Understanding feelings, friendship, professional relationships. 

Parents as Partners: Respecting diversity, communication, learning together. 

Supporting Learning: Positive interactions, listening to children, effective teaching. 

Key Person: Secure attachment, shared care, independence.

Enabling Environments

Observation, Assessment and Planning: Starting with the child, planning, assessment. 

Supporting Every Child: Children’s needs, the learning journey, working together. 

The Learning Environment: The emotional environment, the outdoor environment, the indoor environment. 

The Wider Context: Transitions and continuity, multi-agency working, the community.

Learning and Development

Play and Exploration: Learning through experience, adult involvement, contexts for learning. 

Active Learning: Mental and physical involvement, decision making, personalised learning. 

Creativity and Physical Thinking: Making connections, transforming and understanding, sustained shared thinking.

The Areas of Development and Learning.


How we provide for development and learning:

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our school helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

Further, detailed information on the curriculum can be obtained from your class teacher.